Beyond Raw

We have been pretty quiet for over a year, but not because we haven’t been eating and exploring new diets, but because we’re not completely raw anymore. We went back to cooked food, eating a lot of brown rice and veggies and making gluten free breads, but what we’ve found since the beginning of this year is that grains of any type are not really doing us any favors.

I know about the dangers of gluten as I’ve described in other posts here, and finally Steve agreed not to eat it either. As he was curious about the non-gluten and started eating brown rice cereal and oatmeal in place of his daily toast and eggs, he found that it wasn’t really agreeing with him. As we researched further, we found that grains of all type are inflammatory to the body. We have tried so many different “diets” that I remained skeptical. I like rice! But, we decided to investigate further, and I found a couple books and video clips on the Paleo Diet, which at first I just rolled my eyes to. Another fad!

Then we saw a documentary on our local tv station about the paleo diet, and it was done based on studies that showed its effectiveness, including a study done by UCSF -a research oriented medical school I respect.  They had done two week studies with people who were suffering from various diseases, including diabetes and high blood pressure, and found that of the three diets they had the people eating – Mediterranean, Vegetarian, and Paleo, the results were startling. Mediterranean didn’t do much, vegetarian did a little more, but the Paleo results showed dramatic drops in bad levels and increases in good for the participants, including reducing inflamation.

This program prompted me to look on Amazon for paleo diet books, and I found two that sounded good. The first is The Paleo Solution, by Robb Wolf, and the second is Paleo Comfort Foods, by Julie and Charles Mayfield. Both have been great purchases, and prompted Steve to get a kindle version of one of The Paleo Diet, by one of the forerunners of the movement, Professor Loren Cordain.

We’ve been on this diet for almost a month, and at first I didn’t notice any benefits. In fact, I felt a little worse. But I agreed to stay on the diet for 60 days, so continued with it, although I still have my chocolate and tea with half and half. What has happened within the last week and a half is that my energy level has increased dramatically as has my enthusiasm level. I am writing again whereas previously I’ve been in a fog. I’ve got creative ideas and the wherewithal to follow through, and this is a major plus as I was feeling as though my purpose in life was dwindling. Now I feel about 10 years younger and intend to feel even better than that –  ageless and timeless!

I heartily recommend that you go to Amazon and read the synopsis of each of these books and the many comments by readers. They are educational and add more information. There are also lots of paleo BLOG sites. What I’ve noted is that now we are eating more raw food again. Since we don’t have any grains, we rely on our wonderful dehydrated crackers that we make out of veggies and nuts – sometimes even without the nuts. We’re not fanatics on this diet. We had coconut ice cream with berries last night, and I feel that people need to experiment and explore with what works best for their own bodies. For me, this appears to be a viable program, but I am open to learning and also watching for proof positive.

The key with paleo, too, is that when you buy meat, make sure it is organic and grass fed/pasture raised if possible. The grain diets that our factory farms feed their livestock is not normal for them anymore than they are for us, and if we are going to eat meat, we want to make sure that the animals have been raised in the most humane environment so that the lives they do have are given dignity! KJ

Explore posts in the same categories: Raw Food

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Beyond Raw”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Let it be known that today is my first day on the Paleo diet… or better yet, instead of “diet” let’s call it “liv-it”! I have been impressed by your results of having more energy and weight loss – exactly what my goal is in changing how I eat. I will report back again… NF

    • 2raw Says:

      Fabulouos! We’ll keep track of how we all feel. Here’s to the best foods that can help each one of us reach optimum health and retain it!!


Leave a Reply

